Pennsylvania Drivers Point System.

Under the law of this Commonwealth, “Points” are added to your driver’s license for various vehicle or traffic code infractions; and corrective action automatically begins after six (6) points.

  • Six (6) or more points for the first time results in a written notice to take a written special point examination.
  • Six (6) or more points for the second time results in a hearing.
  • Six (6) or more points for the third time results in suspension.
  • The driver’s license of a minor (juvenile, person under age 18) may be suspended after six points or if convicted of driving 26mph or more over the speed limit. The first suspension is for 90 days. Subsequent suspensions are for 120 days.


Dual / Hybrid Vehicular Investigations

Next, William F. Caye II, LLC, has an in depth knowledge of the ever changing laws pertaining to driving under the influence and drunk driving arrests in all of Pennsylvania. Being arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI will result in two differing yet parallel legal challenges.

The first is the criminal prosecution case, in which an offender if convicted could face criminal penalties such as mandatory jail time and fines, alcohol educational programs, and probation.  However, the just as equally challenging legal problem deals with a civil/administrative regulatory action conducted by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Bureau of Driver Licensing that will seek to suspend and/or revoke your driver’s license as an administrative collateral consequence separate and apart from any criminal sanctions or penalties.

Both of these actions, as such, must be addressed immediately. Retaining the professional legal services of attorney William F. Caye II as soon as possible can greatly benefit the defense of your parallel cases. Be mindful that when you are licensed to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, you are voluntarily agreeing to the rule of implied consent, which means that if law enforcement stops you on reasonable suspicion of impaired driving due to drugs or alcohol, you must submit to a chemical test.

If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, then you can face an automatic loss of license. The chemical test is used to measure your blood alcohol concentration, which will determine if a charge will be filed and whether or not the eventual punishments you face, if convicted of a DUI can end in jail, probation, or both. Also, note that previous vehicle code violation charges and conviction(s) will also weigh against you, in terms of possibly increasing the potential penalties, fines, costs and periods of incarceration you may face upon a criminal conviction.

If you are facing minor or serious vehicle of traffic code violation charges it is strongly advised that you engage William F. Caye II, LLC and schedule your confidential consultation for purposes of legal representation.